Sleep bras?

(11 Posts)
BatMobile Mon 01-Feb-16 22:17:07

I'm quite new to the whole BF thing, having failed to feed DS1 but now successfully feeding 3 week old DS2 (yay!)

Started off wearing a sleep bra but last night tried sleeping in just a PJ top and found it more comfortable.

Do you wear a nursing sleep bra or go without? I'm wondering if I just haven't found the right bra or fit yet...hmm

KP86 Mon 01-Feb-16 22:17:47

Whatever is most comfortable for you, no bra needed if you aren't leaking milk everywhere.

GailTheFish Mon 01-Feb-16 22:22:25

I do - as I need to wear pads at night. The soft Mothercare ones are pretty good - they have a crossover front so no clips to get in the way or lie on.

BatMobile Mon 01-Feb-16 22:31:47

KP No, thankfully I'm not leaking now as my supply has adjusted to DS' demand so that's not an issue.

I've heard good things about the cross over ones; I have the Mothercare crop style ones with clip fastening at the moment.

KP86 Tue 02-Feb-16 07:19:08

As far as I know there's no benefit to a sleep bra (anymore than when not breastfeeding), it's more a convenience/comfort factor for dealing with leaking or huge and uncomfortable breasts.

mumchkin Tue 02-Feb-16 12:38:53

I was wearing one but found it really hurt and was reducing my supply (I pump), so be careful.

BatMobile Tue 02-Feb-16 19:06:37

mumchkin Thanks - that's interesting. I was concerned that if it was ill-fitting it would affect my supply.

MummySparkle Tue 02-Feb-16 19:08:40

I wore those really stretchy bras to hold pads in. I had to wear pads and sleep on a towel and I still woke up soggy! I was so glad when my supply regulated and I no longer leaked at night. My DP said that if I was feeding DD and asleep in the mornings my other breast would produce a fountain of milk shock

MrsUnderwood Tue 02-Feb-16 19:28:50

I've got the Mothercare crossover ones as I leak, I prefer them to the ones with clips and find them pretty comfy.

pickleandflux Wed 03-Feb-16 17:14:19