11 days old and feeding for 2-3 hours at a time

(17 Posts)
Bunnymummy82 Fri 29-Nov-13 01:31:48

I have an 11 day old who feeds for 2 or 3 hours a time esp at night - the midwife said they only need to feed for 40 mins a time - am I doing something wrong? Have resorted to a formula feed a couple if times at 4am when my nipples can't take any more so am slightly desperate! Any advice appreciated!

Bluecarrot Fri 29-Nov-13 01:37:17

Is your baby actually thinking milk of using your nipples as a comforter? Are you using anything on the nipples like lanolin or coconut oil?

I read that cluster feeding at night is common.

I've no first hand experience but didn't want to leave you unanswered overnight. I didn't manage to breastfeed dd1 so been reading a lot up for dd2 due in a few weeks.

Bluecarrot Fri 29-Nov-13 01:37:46

Thinking = drinking!

Bunnymummy82 Fri 29-Nov-13 01:43:15

Thank you! I am not sure if she is really drinking milk or just playing with my nipples - whenever I think she is done she does head nodding and rooting. Have got lanolin which helps!

YankNCock Fri 29-Nov-13 01:44:03

This sounds completely normal to me, with both of mine I felt like I was stuck under them for hours. When they are little like that, sometimes it takes them a while to get more efficient at getting the milk out. As time goes on they will need less time at the breast.

If you have a particularly 'sucky' baby, you could try a dummy. I think 10 days was where I gave in with DS1, because I was so tired of him being on me constantly.

Try to avoid giving bottles if you can, your boobs are getting used to producing milk and are magically working out how much they need to produce and when. Giving a bottle can interrupt that, so if you do use a bottle, you might try to hand express some at the same time to keep your body 'on track' with what it needs to produce.

Good luck, you're doing great!

wellieboots Fri 29-Nov-13 01:47:38