Help - oversupply and engorgement in one breast

(17 Posts)
duende Sun 22-Sep-13 14:52:17

DD is 6 weeks and ebf. I've always had more milk in my right breast but in the the last 24 hours it's become really uncomfortable and I'm engorged again.
I wasn't sure if I had oversupply/oald before because I never spray milk, but she has always choked on the right breast, she gulps and she fussies a lot.
Since yesterday it's been worse and I'm now uncomfortable, engorged and lumpy.
What do I do?

BlackberrySeason Sun 22-Sep-13 14:59:43

My suspicion is that you have a blocked duct. Will post a helpful link in a second on what to do.

Is the pain only on one side?

Is it hot and do you have a temperature?

Do you have a small whitish blob on your nipple?

BlackberrySeason Sun 22-Sep-13 15:09:09
RandomMess Sun 22-Sep-13 15:10:18

I was going to say sounds like it could be the start of mastitis but I'm no expert.

BlackberrySeason Sun 22-Sep-13 15:18:47

This is the white blob I'm wondering if you also have:

www.mother-2-mother.com/nipplepain.htm%23MilkBlister

duende Sun 22-Sep-13 15:38:35

I don't have a blister or fever (yet?). But I don't know if it's beginning of mastitis so I should let her nurse of this breast and hopefully drain it, or if it's just engorgement caused by oversupply and I should try and feed her mainly of the other breast...
Trying to get through to LLL but only getting voicemails.

BlackberrySeason Sun 22-Sep-13 15:43:32

Right - I would treat as a suspected blocked duct / start of mastitis and do the following:

- feed her as often as possible off the engorged side.
- apply warm cloths and massage the sore side towards the nipple, to see if you can shift the blockage
- look out for appearance of a blister and treat accordingly if one comes
- keep an eye on your temperature in case you need antibiotics/gp
-REST - get DH to help you with nappy changes etc and take your baby to bed.

BlackberrySeason Sun 22-Sep-13 15:45:05