How to prepare bottles - a newbie here!

(9 Posts)
luna40 Sun 14-Jul-13 12:15:58

I have been exclusively breastfeeding my little one and now need to introduce mixed feeding. I am going to give a bottle of formula once or twice a day, and I have some very newbie questions about how to prepare a bottle!

1) Sterilising: once I sterilise bottles in my steam steriliser, how long do they last? Eg, if I sterilise first thing in the AM, take bottle out and put to the side, is it still okay to use for an evening bottle?

2) Boiling water: the formula tins and HV's say to use cooled boiled water to mix the formula, not cooled for longer than 30 mins. However, when I ask around at baby groups, Mums will tell me that they just use boiled water which is room temperature that they boiled longer than 30 mins ago. Ie, they will prepare several bottles with water in the evening that last throughout the night. Is this really okay to do? HV scared me in saying that it needs to be made fresh every time or I'm putting my baby at risk...

3) Once I prepare a bottle, within what time frame does it have to be used?

4) When going out and about, ie for a day trip, do people normally use those ready-to-pour cartons? Or do you bring powder and source a kettle?

Thanks for any tips you can give!

jkklpu Sun 14-Jul-13 12:42:12

How old is your baby? The important thing with formula milk is that the water should be at least 70C when it hits the powder so that it kills any bacteria which might be lurking in the formula itself. The sterilisation of the bottles is much less important - as long as you wash them in hot soapy water and rinse properly, they'll be fine. Lots of countries other than the UK don't advise sterilisation.