Expressing on nursing placement

(5 Posts)
adagio Wed 22-May-13 18:30:42

I am trawling through old threads trying to work out how much/how many times I will need to express to maintain supply during three day/all day course in a few weeks when DD is 6 months old.

I have a medela swing which takes batteries, and I also have cool bag with shaped ice pack which holds 4 medela bottles - got it on offer in mother care for £15 (cheaper than buying the bottles alone, not sure if it would be worth full price...).

www.mothercare.com/Medela-City-Style-Breastpump-Bag/320338,default,pd.html

HadALittleFaithBaby Sat 11-May-13 09:10:18

I think technically you'll be entitled. The practicality of finding somewhere to express in an NHS environment might be tricky! I don't know if I'd be happy to leave mine in a shared fridge at work (I'm a nurse btw!) - its an area anyone can access and the fridges tend to be minging! I'd look into a cool bag like suggested above. Actually I think asking about going to the maternity unit is an excellent idea - they might be able to offer you space to express in too.

I know Boots do expressing storage bags - like resealable container bags with labels you can write on for about £7.

chloeb2002 Sat 11-May-13 02:43:20

Hi, if you have a maternity unit they should let you express there and often store ebm in there fridge. Of not a cooler bag. You are covered by the same legal rights as any other employee. If they give you a hard time then go and speak to your uni facilitator.

chipmonkey Sat 11-May-13 01:57:14

good for you, Matriarchal!
Where I work, we don't have a fridge. I used to store my expressed milk in a cooler bag with 3 ice packs. It was always fine. I did work one long 12 hour day and on that day I would bring in a little mini-fridge and plug it in. I'm not sure it was any better than the cooler bag though!

MatriarchalDreams Fri 10-May-13 16:45:31