medela pump advice wanted

(13 Posts)
MissV1 Thu 07-Mar-13 14:39:56

Thinking of buying a breast pump before baby's arrival in a few weeks as struggled to breast feed baby 1. Looking at getting the medela, not sure what the difference is between the swing and mini though other than price?!

What did anyone else use and what did u think?

MamaMary Thu 07-Mar-13 14:42:06

I use the mini and it is fine. I used it for DD1 daily for six months and am now using it with DD2. I express one bottle a day.

I have no experience with the Swing but IMO the extra expense is unnecessary as the mini does the job.

MissV1 Thu 07-Mar-13 14:45:30

Brilliant, thank you!

From what I have read, the mini is noisier and doesn't work in the same way to express your milk.

MissV1 Thu 07-Mar-13 14:47:59

Brilliant, thank you!

MissV1 Thu 07-Mar-13 14:53:07

Oops, sorry - didn't meant repost same comment! I'm hoping I won't have to solely rely on the pump and I'm not sure how much noise would be an issue....£100+ just seems a lot for a pump.

Anyone else have experience of using any others?

JiltedJohnsJulie Thu 07-Mar-13 15:09:56

I'd have a look at the difference between open and closed systems before you buy. There should be some info in previous Mn threads smile

BadgerFace Thu 07-Mar-13 17:08:50

I like my Medela Swing. I had issues with feeding DD in the early days and was expressing 8 times a day and it did a very good job. I am now (fortunately!) down to once a day but it's easy to use and not too noisy.

But I've not tried the mini so can't compare!

thompson369 Thu 07-Mar-13 20:15:39

I've been using the Swing and been really pleased with it - yes it does cost about £100 but I have seen them selling second hand on eBay for over £50, so if you did buy a new one you'd get a chunk of the cash back if you looked after it and sold it on.

lyrasdaemo Thu 07-Mar-13 20:34:46