Pain in boobs!

(7 Posts)
Jenijena Mon 04-Feb-13 19:43:13

I had an infection without any normal signs of mastitis: this was picked up by an analysis of my milk when they found I had a ? group B strep infection (whatever that is, I am no doctor!). I had all the deep breast thrush symptoms and it was agony. Took three doses of antibx to clear up, and was v patronised by gp ('why don't you just switch to formula?') but all fine now. Milk was tested 3 times as they didn't believe it hadn't gone with antibx.

Worth persevering, but I found most medical professionals pretty awful (and I saw a lot in this time).

McBaby Mon 04-Feb-13 19:22:53

Sounds like the let down pain got for first few months. It's now gone but can't remember it going she is now six months and haven't had it for a long time.

abi2790 Sun 03-Feb-13 21:43:38

The bf support worker mentioned the let down pain which I think is most likely but yes MrsSham its a shooting pain from the inside and has started to reach right up to my armpit sad

MrsSham Sun 03-Feb-13 21:29:54

It does sound like thrush, do you get shooting like pains from inside coming through your breasts to the nipple. I had similar and had to convince Gp it was thrush before he did anything, think I was prescribed a tablet or tablets in the end.

NotSoNervous Sun 03-Feb-13 21:24:59

Hi, I had something similar when my DD was about 7 weeks until about 10-11 weeks and it was awful, I think it was my let down but one day it just stopped. I only had it for the first few minutes of each feed but it made me dread feeding her because I knew the pain would come

Sorry that's not much help, hope t goes for you soon

Abigail9580 Sun 03-Feb-13 21:20:18

It's not your milk let down is it. Mine sometimes makes me squeal out loud involuntary!! My DS is 6m and I am sure it has got worse when it happens, however it no longer happens at every feed. Just maybe one or two a day.

abi2790 Sun 03-Feb-13 21:17:03