Green mucousy poo in 5 mo EBF baby

(7 Posts)

My 5mo DD started getting green poo's about 10 days ago. Not every nappy but around half. She also went from going once every few days to going 6-8 times a day (and night!!). Nothing changed in my diet. She feeds about 6 times in 24 hours. She started waking for a feed around 1am again which she had previously stopped.

I have read that green nappies in EBF babies can be caused by fore/hind milk imbalance but she only feeds from one side per feed and there is 3-4 hours between feeds so if it is this I don't know how to correct it? She feeds for 10mins on average sometimes less. She's an average weight for 23 weeks (16lbs). She is showing signs of teething (dribbling, chewing fingers)

Do I need to worry?

BollyGood Thu 24-Jan-13 13:27:02

Hello! I am by no means an expert on green poo but have also been ebfg for almost 10 months. Dd had it and it was due to a dairy intolerance which peaked at 6 months and disrupted her sleep for a long time, and gave her runny explosive nappies constantly. It is now thankfully gone. It started when she was around 2 weeks old and your baby is much older so not sure if its that, although an intolerance can appear at anytime so may be worth checking with a doctor but it is very difficult to spot and confirm in babies. The easiest way is to cut out dairy for just two weeks and see if this improves things,not necessary to do this though if your baby still seems happy and content with just green poo.
I have also read that various foods can make poo green at anytime when bfing, most of the time you will never even know or be able to work out why. It's probably nothing to worry about, the night waking is usually due to growth spurts and just needing to feed more for a little while, that also calms down again. After 3 babies I still have had to wing it half the time! Hope your little one is ok and his poos return to normal soon! grin