Book of the month: and April's Irish winner is... BROOKLYN by Colm Toibin (discussion Tue 27 April)

(93 Posts)

The magnificent BROOKLYN by Colm Toibin has shot to the top of April's poll, with Sebastian Barry in second place.

We'll get together here on Tuesday 27 April 8.00 - 9.30 pm to discuss the book.

I am contacting the publisher now to see if Mr Toibin might be able to join us on the night so fingers crossed...

And for anyone new to bookclub, here is how it works

SuSylvester Mon 29-Mar-10 11:32:16

OMG
please do
i haev questions about the characters

TheFirstLady Mon 29-Mar-10 17:19:42

Count me in. I loved Brooklyn. And I have questions for Mr T.

DecorHate Tue 30-Mar-10 16:27:08

Hmm now just need to find a plausible excuse for spending an evening on the computer!

MonkeyChicken Wed 31-Mar-10 09:30:01

Ha, ha. I'm quite new to book club and was amused to see the power of mumsnet. I had a look online to see if my local library had a copy of Brooklyn. The local council had 23 copies and there are already 19 reservations in place, obviously I need to be quicker off the mark!

frankie3 Wed 31-Mar-10 16:00:53

Yes! I have just finished reading this.

Phrenology Wed 31-Mar-10 21:54:29

What an interesting juxtaposition.....

The current cover for Brooklyn is the one one that was used for the hardback edition of Rachel Heaths book The Finest Type of English Womanhood. confused

Essaye Thu 01-Apr-10 15:51:37

Great, started reading this last month and as I'm a bit bad at giving myself time to read I might have got it finished by then. Fingers Crossed.

I'm about a third of the way through it, and have mixed feelings about it currently.

wukter Sun 04-Apr-10 22:17:30

I read it a couple of months ago, details are alittle hazy now but it did feel a little anti-climactic.

JuneMum2be Mon 05-Apr-10 19:45:24