Please don't promote blogs that aren't in the Mumsnet Bloggers Network. Join the network

Are you a Slummy Mummy?

(23 Posts)
emilybeatrice Tue 08-Oct-13 22:25:35

Hello,

I'm new to the world or blogging and would appreciate some feedback on my posts, Happy to offer up some in return. looking to link in with fellow mummy bloggers to support each other on this journey.....

aslummymummy.wordpress.com/

E

quoteunquote Wed 09-Oct-13 11:25:52

What is a slummy mummy?

WipsGlitter Wed 09-Oct-13 11:35:22

Hi, my first though it that your background is a bit bright and sort of takes over the from rest of the content, ie makes it a bit hard to focus on. Your posts are good, but maybe a wee bit long.

I loved the butternut squash picture and caption!!

emilybeatrice Wed 09-Oct-13 12:57:31

Thank you for your feedback, I had a subtler background previously, Ill put that back up :-)

A Slummy Mummy, is really the reverse of a yummy mummy, its a mum who tries to have it all but cant quite manage it. Its a mum less concerned about her looks (doesn't have time) and having the 'perfect' image of family life (the vintage kitchen and immaculate carpets).

A mum who burns the homemade bread and cupcakes, and never quite manages to reach the bottom of the washing basket. Who's craft projects never look as good as the illustration in the instruction manual and who's local tooth fairy is rather forgetful

In honestly a Slummy Mummy is most mums out there.... my blog aims to encourage women that they're not alone, its ok to stay in your jammies for the day, in fact, its perfectly normal.

quoteunquote Thu 10-Oct-13 00:08:37

So for being normal you are labelled slummy? nice.

emilybeatrice Thu 10-Oct-13 15:12:41

it's meant to be satirical, does it not come across that way?

To be honest I hate all the yummy mummy / slummy mummy type labels. We are women, not just mummies. I wouldn't read your blog because of the name

emilybeatrice Thu 10-Oct-13 15:27:43