Was estranged from Dad, can't get over his death

(12 Posts)
ILoveAGoodBrusselSprout Fri 13-May-16 19:50:29

This is my first time starting a thread. I hope I've done it right!

Since my teenage years, I had a very difficult relationship with my Dad. Much of it boils down to his alcoholism. We were estranged on and off throughout my adult life because of his unreasonable behaviour, constant lies, drinking, verbal and (rarely) physical abuse and his denial of any poor behaviour on his part.

My mum, who divorced him 20 years ago, lived with an enormous amount of guilt that he ended up pretty much alone, unemployed, drinking, etc with a miserable life, and she passed this onto me by insisting that I keep looking after him, giving him chance after chance, getting back together with him because he loved me and missed me so much, then later because he loved and missed my kids so much. His love wasn't ever strong enough to change his behaviour, though.

Anyway, there's way too much to detail everything here, but you have the gist.

In Feb last year he told me that he didn't want anything more to do with me - I was a pain, basically, trying to control him (to a degree, that was true I suppose). To be honest, this suited me. I knew deep down that he didn't mean it, but I'd taken so much from him over the years that it helped emotionally to blame him entirely.

He called me in April as if nothing had happened but I, rather unkindly, reminded him of what he'd said in Feb and ended the call.

He died in July.

Despite his unhealthy lifestyle, the post mortem revealed no cause of death. He just died and I don't know why. I was called to the hospital while they were 'working on him' and then he was gone, without knowing that I cared.

My mum, husband and friends know about our relationship difficulties so I feel I can't outwardly grieve for seeming like I'm faking it, or being disingenuous.