Would you take kids out if school for 3 months?

(17 Posts)
twinkletoes56 Tue 08-Nov-16 19:18:00

My DH is keen next year to take our DCs 6 and 5 out of school for a family travel-a-thon for around 3 months. DC1 would be finishing year 1/starting 2 and DC2 finishing reception and starting year 1.

My sensible side says it's a selfish adult thing, the children will miss out and socially and with education. They are both doing very well at school to date.

I'm also concerned, having been lucky enough to go on several a few weeks at a time holidays with the children already that it didn't become lots of week breaks tagged together with the children being herded about to all the wonders before being moved on and not one bigger, slower experience iykwim.

My wild and reflective size says it's a no brainier and if we're lucky enough to be able to do it, there's nothing better than family time etc!

Any thoughts? I'm a bit of an analyst and I can't decide what to do. DH is keen to get a camper van so we would have a homey constant base for the children. Previously for several weeks we have moved after a few days which can seem disruptive.

NickiFury Tue 08-Nov-16 19:19:47

I completely would at that age. But I don't think they'd hold your place for you. You'd have to reapply on return. Would you be ok with that?

Miloarmadillo1 Tue 08-Nov-16 19:20:50

I think it sounds fab, but the only way to do it without being in big trouble for non school attendance would be to deregister and say you are homeschooling. Would you be likely to be get places from an in year application at your preferred school when you return?

2014newme Tue 08-Nov-16 19:22:40

I couldn't bear being stuck in a camper van for 3 months. You could try out the idea by all living in one room of your house for a few days. See how you get on.