Health Visitor stirring up trouble

(6 Posts)
Supergran58 Sun 17-Apr-16 20:53:53

My then 18yr old adopted dd had a baby last summer. She lives at home with me and little one. I am a primary school teacher (to set the scene). Little one has social care involvement and is a 'child in need' due to dd not coping with him while I'm at work - he now goes to a childminder while Im at work. Little one has always been a most delightful and laid back baby. (I know - doting granny,) I have also spent a huge amount of time with him singing, reading, playing and talking, partly as he's so gorgeous, partly to model what to do to my daughter and partly because I'm well aware of the need to stimulate his development in this way. As a consequence he's meeting his milestones spot on and doing pretty well with his language development - making a whole variety babbling sounds, understanding lots of words, shaking his head to mean yes and no and in the last couple of weeks begun to make animal sounds (well a roaring sound for a lion anyway!)in response to pictures or the right soft toys. Both I and his childminder are in agreement that he is doing well. He is 8.5 months.

Last week we had a 'Child in Need' review meeting. Before the meeting the HV observed him looking around our lounge at the pictures on the wall (which he's always been fascinated by) and babbling at them. During the meeting the SW asked for feedback from the HV. The HV visitor said she was concerned that he babbled at objects rather than people (on that occasion he did but generally he does not). The SW asked if this indicated attachment issues and the HV said no it indicates a lack of stimulation. Well as you can imagine I was fuming. Is the HV talking utter bollocks in order to make out we are neglecting one or is she right, babbling at objects signifies a lack of stimulation?

AnotherStitchInTime Sun 17-Apr-16 20:58:46

She is talking utter bollocks