Why does my toddler misbehave when I attend her preschool/outings

(12 Posts)
Starr79 Fri 11-Jul-14 20:59:18

I'm new to this so I hope I'm doing things right!
My daughter will be 3 in September. She is currently attending preschool 2 mornings a week and loves it. She is very well behaved, interacts well and thrives while she's there. However, I attended her school sports day today and she became very defiant, refusing to join in the activities and was hysterical. She wanted to take her turn at the events but despite all of us encouraging her she remained hysterical and refused to participate. Had I have not been there I'm pretty certain she'd have joined in and enjoyed it. There have also been occasions where there have been preschool trips I've taken her on and she's behaved in a similar way. I feel terrible and don't know why she's reacting this way. When I try to talk to her about it she completely ignores me. We have a very close relationship so I can't understand why I seem to make her so unhappy in these situations.
Any help or suggestions appreciated.
Thanks

findingherfeet Fri 11-Jul-14 21:05:44

Could it be just the difference to her routine? She's used to being there without you (which may or may not of been a hard adjustment) so having you there throws her a bit?

I suspect my DD (a month younger) will be exactly the same, have our first trip next week and I'm sure my being there will stress her out.

Flisspaps Fri 11-Jul-14 21:08:00

Don't try to understand a 2 year old. Or a 3 year old.

4 year olds aren't much better grin

Iggly Sat 12-Jul-14 07:25:04

She's only 2. Maybe she doesn't want to do it so let's her guard down with you. Trying to talk to a 2 year old is futile as she won't be able to quite articulate her feelings.

tumbletumble Sat 12-Jul-14 07:29:15

Don't worry OP, this is very common even among older children. I went on a class trip with my 4yo last week and all the parents who came were saying the same. Who knows why!