2 years 10 Months, Cries When I Laugh

(22 Posts)
Khono Sat 13-Oct-12 15:40:59

I'm taking care of a single mom's child while she's at work. I don't have any children myself so I'm a newbie. She's been a pretty good child, rarely crying and learning to talk pretty fast. But she's started to cry quite harshly when I laugh. Whether she's in the other room watching a show or she's right beside me, my laughing bothers her a lot. Even when I fake it to see her reaction.

I suspect it's just a strange phase she'll pass through, but does anyone have any insight here? My laugh isn't really loud and it doesn't sound like yelling or anything like that. I only noticed it the today or yesterday. But then again, she's only now beginning to trust me and open up.

Titchyboomboom Sat 13-Oct-12 23:14:22

Maybe she thinks you're crying... a lot of children cry when someone else cries

Arseface Sat 13-Oct-12 23:27:24

Never heard of this but have not regularly cared for children other than my own.
Perhaps post in the nannies/childminder topic as I'm sure someone there will have experienced it.

Sounds quite unnerving OP, hope someone more knowledgeable comes along with more helpful suggestions.

nannyof3 Sun 14-Oct-12 00:38:21

Why wud u do it to see her reaction if u know she cries? angry

Khono Mon 15-Oct-12 17:28:12

@Titchyboomboom: An interesting thought. I tried a few different ways of "crying". The first one she reacted to with a few whimpers but they were very different from the wails and calls for "mommy" when I laugh. The next few didn't get any sounds out of her. Not conclusive. I'll keep it in mind. Thanks smile

@Arseface: Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give that a try.

@nannyof3: I want to understand what is upsetting her. As far as I can tell, it does no lasting harm to her. Yet someone who is not comfortable with laughter will not be particuarly comfortable with many normal situations.

greenandcabbagelooking Tue 16-Oct-12 11:23:41