New to bread making

(7 Posts)
BoysRule Fri 23-Sep-16 14:49:16

I would like to try making my own bread but am a complete beginner. Can anyone recommend a good starter book - something that explains the process and equipment and has some nice recipes?

Thanks

Ginmakesitallok Fri 23-Sep-16 14:55:34

I like this one

MuffinMad Sun 25-Sep-16 17:14:16

I bought Paul Hollywoods 100 great breads.
I don't think you need to buy loads of books,you just need to find a simple loaf recipe and once you get confident with that,then in no time you will be making all types of bread!
It's really easy and very satisfying. I love it.
I use a stand mixer to do all the hard work for me.
A simple white bread recipe I use a lot is this one;

560g strong white bread flour
20g Vegetable oil
2 teaspoons salt

Yeast;
Either 1 sachet of instant yeast
Or
2 teaspoons of active yeast mixed with warm water ( 100ml boiling water and 200ml straight out of the tap) mix the waters together first because hot water can kill the yeast.
Leave for 10 minutes to foam up.

I always used the instant yeast till I got used to bread making.

Mix the flour with the salt and instant yeast if using, and add the oil. Then pour in 300 ml (or grams-same weight) of warm water and mix with a wooden spoon then let your stand mixer do the work on low speed for 10 minutes.
Then put the dough into a well oiled bowl and tip it upside down so that the oil covers all the dough then cover in cling film and leave to double in size. This can take between 1-3 hrs depending on the temperature.

After that, take the dough out and knock it back to get the air out.

Then you can make small buns,large buns,a plaited loaf or just into a large 2lb loaf tin. Whatever you want.

After that leave to rise again then when you think it has doubled in size,pop it into a hot 220deg oven. A tin loaf takes about half an hour. Buns about 20 minutes depending on the size.