Help, how to bake a cake?

(15 Posts)

I am a keen cook and do ok but for some reason I just cannot bake a cake. I follow the recipe to the letter (well at least I think I do) but it never works out. My twins are turning 1 at the end of the month and I desperately would love to make their 1st birthday cake. Any help would be really appreciated!

I'm a confident baker but wanted to knock something up quickly today so I tried Paul Hollywood's Victoria sponge recipe and it honestly couldn't bread easier. You just chuck all of the ingredients in together and whisk.

If you don't already have one buy an electric hand whisk, mine was a fiver from comet over 10 years ago and its still going strong.

*be easier

Cindy34 Sun 02-Feb-14 23:13:20

Weigh the eggs in their shells. Then use that weight as the weight of the sugar, butter, flour.

Add an extra tea spoon of baking powder to the self raising flour.

Try doing little cup cakes / fairy cakes rather than a big cake if you find things do not rise correctly. fairy cakes grouped together can make for a good birthday cake and no need to slice!

Cindy34 Sun 02-Feb-14 23:16:44

Agree, cheap electric hand whisk. Though do not use butter straight from the fridge, broke a whisk that way. Butter needs to be soft.

Ovens can be temperamental, the temp gauge may not be accurate. Experiment a bit with your oven, try putting cake on lowest rack if you find it burns before it sets.

Thank you so much I'm going to use both your suggestions and get practicing! You've been a big help smile

nannycook Tue 04-Feb-14 19:42:16

Twinkies, have a go it really is simple, I always chuck everything in and beat for 2 mins, always turns out great and have many comments on how nice my cakes are, I make loads of cakes for people, got 6 this month and I use the same recipe changing the quantities for different size tins.

nannycook Tue 04-Feb-14 19:43:06

Sorry I meant twinnies.

Middleagedmotheroftwo Tue 04-Feb-14 19:48:28