Mince pies

(41 Posts)
foofooyeah Wed 28-Nov-12 09:27:51

Sorry if this has already been covered. Complete novice baker here but want to make some mince pies.
I fancy doing some pretty ones with stars on top - and how long will they keep once cooked?

Does anyone have a easy recipe for how to make please, and what basic equipment I will need, and best place to buy it (very reasonably). Only equipment I have is a bowl and sharp knife!

LIZS Fri 21-Dec-12 16:49:51

Making Paul Hollywood's recipe here . How long does the pastry keep for ? We have some leftover form Wednesday's batch that has been in the fridge, would it be any good still ?

VikingVagine Sat 15-Dec-12 12:24:47

I made mince pies with 3yo DD yesterday (made mincemeat a couple of days ago following Delia's recipe). For the pastry I followed this recipe, and added an egg yolk to the mixture. It was handled to death by DD and still came out beautifully.

nannycook Mon 03-Dec-12 21:32:29

Lola maybe your right, mine were alot shorter this time as couldnt even roll the pastry out whereas last time i could manage it albeit gently. Mind the pastry is so nice, wait for it, i actually eat the raw pastry, thats one very desperate cook dont you think?

DS2 (3) and I made mince pies with ready rolled pastry and robertson's jarred mincemeat. He loved pressing the pastry into the holes in the tin, filling them with mincemeat and putting stars on top. They don't look that brilliant (as I let him do it himself) but they taste great and he's very proud of himself.

lolalotta Mon 03-Dec-12 21:13:02

Lol, nannycook, about "the night isn't over!!" grin
I forgot to mention, I used real butter in mine (all I had in the fridge) maybe this was why mine were a bit fragile?

nannycook Mon 03-Dec-12 21:06:04