Mince pies

(41 Posts)
foofooyeah Wed 28-Nov-12 09:27:51

Sorry if this has already been covered. Complete novice baker here but want to make some mince pies.
I fancy doing some pretty ones with stars on top - and how long will they keep once cooked?

Does anyone have a easy recipe for how to make please, and what basic equipment I will need, and best place to buy it (very reasonably). Only equipment I have is a bowl and sharp knife!

racingheart Wed 28-Nov-12 11:20:52

Go for ready made shortcrust pastry and a good brand of mincemeat in a jar. I sometimes stir extra powdered cinnamon, finely chopped almonds and a bit of OJ or brandy into the jar of mince to give it more flavour.

You'll need a rolling pin and a star shaped cutter, a fairy cake baking tray and some plain flour for rolling out, some plain (not olive!) cooking oil. A pastry brush is optional. Icing sugar and powdered cinnamon are good too. If you can't find a star cutter, make a template on card that fits the size of your baking tray moulds, and cut out the pastry round it with a sharp knife.

Preheat the oven. Rub a tiny amount of oil into each fairy cake shape in the baking tray. It should just glisten, not look oily. This helps the pies not to stick.

The pastry needs to be room temperature. Make sure if it was frozen that it's fully defrosted.

On a very very clean kitchen surface sprinkle plenty of plain flour. Put the pastry on top. Shape it gently in your hands, just to get it softer. Dust the rolling pin with flour (if you don't have one you can use a smooth glass bottle (washed out and emptied wine bottle is ideal!) Then roll out the pastry until it's about .5cm thick. Use an upturned wine glass to cut discs from it if you don't have a pastry cutter. Put one disc into each hollow and press it down gently. Spoon a heaped teaspoon of mince into each case then top with a pastry star.