Baby girl name, French as I am French but that can work in UK

(105 Posts)
Oddiegirl3 Sat 27-Jul-13 19:00:29

Hello

I am a bit stuck with finding a name for our baby girl who is not meant to arrive before mid-October but due to complications could be there much sooner. We live in the UK, I am French and my other half is half-French and we're expecting a girl. We spend a lot of time between the two countries and gave our son a French name Henri but let people pronounce it Henry in the UK as we like them both and he responds to both and choose which one to use depending of who he is with!

We love the following names but are worried about them being mispronounced in the UK.
Bizarrely though, I am a teacher and I think sometimes the more obscure the name is, the more people make an effort as they ask you and then remember it. I am not talking about sales calls though as they always get my name wrong and I know straight away i have no interest in speaking to them.

So here we go with a shortlist

1. Garance
2. Jeanne
3. Jeanne-Rose
4. Emerance (accent on second e in French)
5. Elsa
6. Elisa
7. Alexandra
8. Margaux
9. Emilia

The first ones are the ones we like best because they have family connotations and we name our boy after his grand-father and great-grandfather.

Thank you in advance and it would help if you know some Garance and Jeanne as they are the 2 favourites but the most likely to be mispronounced!

Another thought is to put an easier second name so that if the first get really distorted, then when it is time to go to school she can choose the second one?!

So feel free to comment on the list and add names.

Billwoody Sat 27-Jul-13 19:11:40

Not sure about 1,4,8 in UK,
Lucie?

Theas18 Sat 27-Jul-13 19:11:56

they are all pretty. don't get hung up on pronunciation. people will learn:-)

" normal names" need explanation sometimes
ed sofia ( ia ut sophie-a, soph-eye-a etc)

so to know that Jeanne is jan with a Gallic j isn't that hard.