Ferdinand

(24 Posts)
SandraClegane Tue 02-Jul-13 12:33:56

Interesting - I didn't realise it was perceived as 'Spanish' by many. I like it because it is a Germanic name (think Ferdinand Porsche) and baby will be 1/4 German.
Also didn't know it was so common as a surname! But oh well.
It seems to be much more agreeable than Wallace though wink; now all I have to do is try and get DH on board!!

squoosh Mon 01-Jul-13 12:32:03

I like it.

Much better than Wallace!

polkadotsrock Mon 01-Jul-13 12:17:26

Ah it was This Life I was thinking of!

WhiteShakette Mon 01-Jul-13 11:45:27

Nice name, and I knew a couple of baby Ferdinands in London, and one very cool elderly Jamaican when i was a student. I think the only drawback is nicknames, if you don't like 'Ferdy'.

DramaAlpaca Mon 01-Jul-13 00:20:35

Yes, I also immediately thought Ferdinand & Isabella.

To be honest, I think it's a bit like the male equivalent of Tabitha a great name for a cat.

Sorry!

AllegraLilac Mon 01-Jul-13 00:17:36

Great strong middle name.

EssexNanny Mon 01-Jul-13 00:05:46

I like it :-) I know of an 8 year old Ferdinand. With the nickname Ferdi :-)

lurcherlover Sun 30-Jun-13 23:53:25

I instantly think "and Isabella". If you have Spanish connections, great - if not, I'd avoid.

I also think it's cute on a baby and could work well on a grown man (although "Ferdy" sounds a bit undignified for an adult) but he's probably going to have a tough time at school when he's 14. I'm a secondary teacher and honestly, their tastes in humour haven't got any more sophisticated since we were at school...

ByHecuba Sun 30-Jun-13 23:45:02

Not if your last name is Bloggs or Higginbotham.. but Ferdy is cute. I think it would make a great and unexpected middle name too, if your DH won't entertain it as a first.

VBisme Sun 30-Jun-13 23:44:28

Ferdinand is a great name. It wouldn't cross my mind that it was a surname (but neither would Thomas).

mrsyattering Sun 30-Jun-13 23:42:10

I think Ferdi from This Life