Josh short for....

(29 Posts)
iheartmycat Sun 10-Mar-13 01:37:52

Joseph? Is it too daft as I KNOW it's short for Joshua. But - I desperately want to name the baby (if its a boy) after my dad who died years ago.

I love love love the name Joseph, regardless of it being my dads name, but wouldn't feel comfortable with the baby being 'wee joe' so to speak. I also want my partner to have at least a slight say in naming his child!

So, we are thinking of putting Joseph on the birth certificate but calling him josh for short, as that's a name we also both love. Would people think its too stupid when its actually short for another name altogether?

Clary Tue 12-Mar-13 20:08:23

Yes.

Josh is short for Joshua. Why not use Joseph as a middle name?

Josh is very very very popular too - I am a secodnary teacher and I teach about eight; if I include my DCs' mates (they are 13 and under) that adds another half a dozen.

BTW Josephs are not always shortened. One of the Josephs I teach (there are a number of those too) is always called by his full name.

pollypanic Tue 12-Mar-13 14:44:28

I agree seeker. I love Joseph. Why shorten it? Your Dad was Joe, your son is Joseph.

Josh from Joseph, although I think is possible, sounds a little contrived.

Or just use Joshua. The biblical father-(grand)son link (clutching straws...) Joseph's son was Jesus which is the same name as Joshua (one is the Hebrew/English translation the other the Greek/English). See what I've done there?.....

Good luck!

seeker Mon 11-Mar-13 22:27:46

Why wouldn't you be comfortable with wee Joe? Particularly as your father is not longer with you?

My ds is Little Pat to his older Irish family- I think it's lovely.

Just call him Joseph. Fab name.

pollypanic Mon 11-Mar-13 22:24:53

I know a Josephine who is called Josh. She's Irish, so I don't know if it is an Irish thing? It confuses a lot of people since she is a female Josh - not a problem you'll have.

WormCanner Mon 11-Mar-13 21:55:11