Crochet pattern help

(13 Posts)
MadgeMak Thu 28-May-15 22:12:41

I'm a crochet beginner and have made a few things now, however I'm a bit stuck on my current project. The pattern says to ch2, ch3. Not sure what that means?! I'm assuming if it means to chain 2 and then 3 from the same stitch then it would simply say ch5. Can anyone shed any light?

RedandYellow24 Thu 28-May-15 22:14:27

Is it chain 2 next stitch chain 3 one after? What is the line before and after, might help

AnimalsAreMyFriends Thu 28-May-15 22:14:35

Can you put it in the context of the row / round you are doing? What's before / after it?
What are you making?

CaTsMaMmA Thu 28-May-15 22:15:58

it's maybe to imply that the 2 ch is the height, and the three chain is the gap

the first two are to replace a treble or double crochet depending on if you are UK or US instructions

have you a link to the pattern??

MadgeMak Fri 29-May-15 15:09:09

It's a dream catcher. So pattern reads as follows:

Round 1
Ch8, ss to first ch to form a ring

Round 2
Ch2 (counts as first so in this round and all following), 15dc in ring, join into the top of the 2nd ch from start with a ss (16dc)

Round 3
Ch2, ch3, miss 1 st, 1dc in next st, ch3; repeat from to end of round finishing with miss 1 st, join into the top of the 2nd ch from start with a ss (8 3ch-sps)

TheWoollybacksWife Fri 29-May-15 15:29:14

It is as CaTsMaMmA said above. Your 2ch is worked in place of a dc and forms a stitch of the same height as a dc and then the 3ch is the same as the 3ch worked on all the all repeats on the same round.

MadgeMak Sat 30-May-15 09:45:23

Thanks. I'm still struggling to work out what I'm meant to do though! So do I ch3 then ch2 from the next stitch or am I completely lost?!

EdwiniasRevenge Sat 30-May-15 10:00:04

I think you ch5.
Its just because its the beginning of the round. As as been said the ch2 is in place of a dc and the ch3 is the beginning of tge round proper.