Can anyone suggest a good beginner shawl pattern and yarn please?

(13 Posts)
piemashandliquer Wed 20-May-15 18:21:59

I am a novice knitter (but can crochet). I would like to knit myself a fairly simple shawl, perhaps with a nice edging, in a lovley yarn. I have searched ravelry but was pretty overwhelming, so I would like some personal recommendations if poss please.

I really fancy using Rowan Lima or similar, but open to suggestions.

I'd like the shawl to be longer than a shawlette but not massive as I'm quite small. It must cover my shoulders to mid back and must be warm. I saw a Louisa Harding one called eglantine but have no idea how tricky it would be to knit.

I would appreciate any recommendations.

PolterGoose Wed 20-May-15 22:11:51

I've knitted 3 scarfs/shawls by Martina Behm here on Ravelry, you can make them as big as you choose, and after initial getting in the rhythm of the pattern, very easy and look much fancier than they are wink

Anjelica27 Wed 20-May-15 22:34:34

Hi, have a look at 'Afternoon Tea' on Knitty.com. The pattern is for a shawlette but I've done it several times and you just keep going until it's as big as you want. Same with the wool, I've used something different each time. Easy repetitive pattern too once you get going.

piemashandliquer Wed 20-May-15 22:58:56

Thank you for responses. Poltergoose: which ones have you tried from Martina? I was hoping for something a little bigger to keep me warm. I like the afternoon tea one, it does look a little complicated though...

Anjelica27 Thu 21-May-15 00:07:45