Learning to crochet

(84 Posts)
DigApony Sun 26-Apr-15 11:06:05

So after weeks of watching many tutorials and getting no where, yesterday it clicked after watching about 100 times an American tutorial the woman was brilliant. So I finally feel like I've started to gets to grips with the granny square. Obviously it's a bit messy/loose but it's so fast and enjoyable compared to the knitting I've been doing. But I live in a tiny town and my only option for yarn was some awful stuff which keeps splitting. What would anyone recommend so I can order some from Amazon today?
This is my first try at a granny square feel free to points out my many mistakes I can see I've missed a few stitches. smile

DigApony Sun 26-Apr-15 11:09:01

blush

BigFatFurryCatPuss Sun 26-Apr-15 11:09:39

Stylecraft special DK is a good all-rounder. 100% acrylic (so easily washable and dryable, a must with dcs!), great range of colours and around £1.69-£1.89 a ball.

I use www.woolwarehouse.co.uk or www.deramores.com both often having offers on.

Happy hooking!

Icimoi Sun 26-Apr-15 11:10:00

Which tutorial was it?

DigApony Sun 26-Apr-15 11:13:25

I'm terrible at links but it jayda knits

sunbathe Sun 26-Apr-15 11:20:54

That's amazing, Dig. smile

PolterGoose Sun 26-Apr-15 11:21:28

Well done smile

Crochet is very addictive wink

Agree with Stylecraft Special recommendation above, and those online stores.

A decent hook can help tension, I love the Clover Amour hooks best.

MandMand Sun 26-Apr-15 11:25:59

That looks absolutely fantastic for a first attempt! I also live in a small town with no yarn shop, and order a lot online from Deramores. Cotton mix yarns are particularly good for crochet, something like James C Brett cotton on would be a good budget yarn to start with.

DeeCayed Sun 26-Apr-15 11:48:22

I've just started (Mother's Day present) and just used wool from asda, pound shop and b&m

These were taken a couple of weeks ago so are bigger but here's my offerings...