Help! attic24 ripple blanket

(13 Posts)
IDugUpADiamond Fri 15-Nov-13 08:23:19

Seymore if you can get Stylecraft special DK do it!! Despite being acrylic, it is an absolutely delight to work with and it looks lovely. I am only learning to crochet at the moment and I am going to make the granny stripe blanket. I have already done the recommended tester with just 21 chains and I strongly recommend you do that too. I am confident that I can crochet this blanket, the only thing stopping me right now is that I know the foundation chain will probably take me as long to crochet as the rest of the blanket!!!grin

SoupDragon Fri 15-Nov-13 07:14:30

That 0.5mm in hook size can actually make a big difference - I've made some Christmas decorations with the Stylecraft DK and a 3.5mm hook rather than 4mm and it is sooo much tighter (which is what I wanted though!)

SeymoreButts Fri 15-Nov-13 00:31:42

I've just had a bash at a granny stripe using some 8ply, it was much easier! It looks a bit looser than it should, I need to get a 4mm hook (I only have 4.5mm at the mo) but would that make much difference or is it all down to tension?

Wool warehouse will ship a stylecraft special DK colour pack to Australia for a really reasonable price, yippee!

Thanks again for all the help. grin

PolterGoose Thu 14-Nov-13 14:02:12

You're very brave doing a ripple blanket as your first big crochet project grin

I made a lot of granny square blankets before I progressed to crocheting in rows, I found working in the round much easier and it is less daunting to make squares rather than a blanket in one go. Practise working in rows, I made a few cotton cloths just to make sure I could keep the number of stitches right and the sides straight.

Also do several practise attempts at the ripple before you start properly. Try it out with different yarns and see what feels best. If you get it wrong on the real thing, ether because it's too slow going or the yarn is splitty, you'll never finish it.