Has anyone done a course in upholstery?

(5 Posts)
harbinger Thu 28-Feb-13 18:19:58

What could you do after 6 Weeks?

Wingedharpy Fri 01-Mar-13 01:13:16

I'm doing one right now.
It was week 6 today and I'm in the process of re-upholstering a bedroom chair.
I've removed all the old upholstery and re-webbed the chair.
I'm doing it the "old fashioned way" apparently - using hessian and horse hair and making a "rolled edge" with hessian and wadding.
My chair should be completed next week and is looking good if I do say so myself.
I've never done it before and have to say I've enjoyed it but we do have an excellent tutor who is multi-talented and there are a lovely group of women who attend and who are all doing different things (the course is called upholstery and soft furnishing, so some are making blinds, curtains, cushions etc etc).
I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest.

harbinger Mon 04-Mar-13 15:42:40

Thank you for telling me about your course, it sounds wonderful. I like the flexibility of the one you are on as I can think of several projects that need those skills.
Did you have the chair to start with? Hence the course?
I'm tempted by a course but the chair I would eventually like to deal with is a leather captain's type chair. (Which I don't think is a good idea for a novice).
The only other chairs I have are the type with a loose seat pad and I don't feel they are that taxing.

sununu Mon 04-Mar-13 15:58:01