Nuchal of 2.3mm

(9 Posts)
muffins Thu 24-Mar-11 18:44:12

Hi

I'm probably just being a worrier but had nuchal today at 12 + 5. it meaured 2.3mm which I know is at the upper end of normal.
Has anyone else had similar and if so what did ur risk come out at after bloods?
I'm 26 btw.

Thanks in advance

muffins x

Sparklies Thu 24-Mar-11 20:00:45

At your gestation that's not too bad at all. It's not low, but it's not worryingly high either - I think it's around 1.4MoM.

As you asked - I had a measurement of 2.2mm at 12w6d. They (Fetal Medicine Centre) said that was absolutely fine. It was my "terrible" bloodwork that caused me to have a risk of 1 in 34 as the bloodwork risk was 1 in 8. Bloodwork can change everything in either direction. Mine was particularly bad - most people's results are just fine especially if the NT looks good. My baby does not have Down Syndrome for what it's worth.

I'd guess on NT alone your odds are somewhere around the 1 in 1,000 mark. I am no doctor however, and that is based on probably dodgy online calculators such as this one: www.hutchon.net/GrowthdownUShookBPD.htm

Sparklies Thu 24-Mar-11 20:02:10

Sorry, should have said that 1.0MoM is the average - and people only start getting concerned at 2.0MoM for NT which yours is nowhere near!

muffins Fri 25-Mar-11 08:02:47

Hi sparklies

thanks for the reply, what does MoM stand for?
I don't even know when I'll get the results if it's high risk, perhaps by end of Tuesday at the latest but I'm just guessing...don't know if the labs open at the weekends.
Think I'll go have a look at that dodgy online calculator

Yaya70 Fri 25-Mar-11 08:06:43

A nuchal of 2.3 mm sounds fine to me, so try not to worry. Your risk is based on many things, so it's difficult to read too much into one part of the risk calculation. The starting point for calculating your risk is your age. So at age 26, I would guestimate that your risk is quite low.