In need of an outside opinion

(6 Posts)
HawkesBayMumma Wed 09-Jan-13 23:49:24

Hi, I am new to this and as I am once again feeling very down today I thought perhaps sending my situation 'out there' to you all might help rather than just my own thoughts and my husbands with trying to make sense of how I am feeling...
In a nutshell I am still (daughter nearly 3 years old) unsure if I struggle with post natal depression (can it even be called this when the birth was so long ago?). Anyway, various ppl have said to me over the last 3 years that they think I might have PND I ALWAYS deny this genuinely believing they are wrong. I might feel a bit down, cry too easily or more often than historically but I have SO much that I am happy about and to be happy over that I can't see how I could be depressed (surely that would be more of a persistent state of mind rather than one I can go in and out of??).

I do snap a lot at my daughter at times (when she is naughty, not randomly), but I can be short tempered, so whereas other people might say 'no' 10 times before they snap I would manage 4-5. I am frustrated a lot too and my bad temper is taken out on my husband too. In fact I feel a bit PMT like - when you hear the horrible words or tone coming out of your mouth but you can't help it almost.
I don't know. I am confused as to whether I have PND or not basically. I read on here the other day a link where someone said they want to tell everyone to F off and I thought that sounds like me, and that she would get annoyed with her baby when he wriggled on the change mat - whilst I don;t do that specific thing I can empathize with other seemingly innocent actions that my daughter can do that just make me wanna scream. She described these actions as PND though, and I would not - just normal parent trying not to lose her mind??!

Any thoughts?? All welcome!

piprabbit Thu 10-Jan-13 00:17:06