To think school shirts should not be white!

(17 Posts)
igotnotimeforthis Tue 15-Nov-16 21:19:34

I'm new to school shirts and stuff, so please bear with me. I just don't get why are they white?
DS got his stained the first time he wore them and the stains are not coming off. Plus after TWO washes they are grey!! And I didn't wash them with dark colours.
Please help! How can i get them clean again? Vanish didn't do anything- used the rubbing in method and adding to the wash as well.
These were nearly £10 per shirt!! I'm so disappointed i will just buy the cheap asda ones next time

QueenOfTheNaps Tue 15-Nov-16 21:22:30

£10 a short?! Are they Gucci? grin
Def go for Asda... or m&s which do a great non iron (for lazies like me)
I put a scoop of vanish oxy action in with my white wash and have never had any turn grey

Nyancat Tue 15-Nov-16 21:22:40

I use biological powder, not the liquid or tablets and a ton of napisan to try and keep them white. But yes it's a total pain. DD is only in p1 (think it's the equivalent of reception) and it's full white shirt and tie for uniform, I'd love if they changed to a polo shirt in any other bloody colour!

KermitRuffinsTrumpet Tue 15-Nov-16 21:24:40

Ace is your friend. It's the only thing I use. My whites are gleaming and my 5 year old is a mucky divil grin

KermitRuffinsTrumpet Tue 15-Nov-16 21:25:32

Ace for stains and washing soda to help keep white.

PinkiePiesCupcakes Tue 15-Nov-16 21:25:52

I gave up after the first week tbh.
DD is only in foundation and they came back woith paint, glue, sparkles etc all over them. She only wears hers under her dress and they're only polo shirts so I have no idea how they got so filthy.
Now I just bundpg them in a bowl of water with white vinegar and leave them to soak for half hour, cool wash, spin dry. They're all a bit dull but they're clean.

EveOnline2016 Tue 15-Nov-16 21:26:04

DC are yellow and are equally a nightmare.