DP is being unreasonable

(22 Posts)
KaosReigns Mon 31-Oct-16 06:14:51

DP told me to post here because he says I'm being completely unreasonable.

DD is finally taking a much needed nap, I am studying and he is cooking dinner all in an open plan living room.

Am I being unreasonable to ask him to rip the onion apart with his bare hands as every chop he makes on the glass chopping board is startling DD awake?

Tumtitum Mon 31-Oct-16 06:16:02

YABU can DD not sleep elsewhere? Or cook later?

Cucumber5 Mon 31-Oct-16 06:19:02

Rip an onion apart with bare hands?? Gosh no. Just exclude it from the dish of the noise is too much for DD

FenellaMaxwell Mon 31-Oct-16 06:21:28

Or he could just chew it and spit it straight into the food? YABU.

BouleBaker Mon 31-Oct-16 06:21:39

He needs to chop it quietly. Whether that be on another surface or inanother room.

FenellaMaxwell Mon 31-Oct-16 06:21:48

Why don't you just buy some Alaric or wooden chopping boards?

FenellaMaxwell Mon 31-Oct-16 06:22:12

Plastic - ffs autocorrect!

canyou Mon 31-Oct-16 06:24:06

Cut it in a tea towel and then later on but a new chopping board. Wood would be best.

PlumsGalore Mon 31-Oct-16 06:37:58

I hate glass chopping boards, slippy and noisy but you were still being unreasonable.

NicknameUsed Mon 31-Oct-16 06:43:23

He is being unreasonable to use a glass chopping board in the first place.
Glass is harder than metal and wrecks knives. It is slippery and not the safest material to use a knife on anyway. There is a reason why professional chefs never use glass as a chopping board. Buy a wooden or plastic one and use the glass one as a worktop saver to put hot pans on.

Glass has no place as a chopping board

I know this is meant to be lighthearted, so tell him to rip the onion apart with his hands grin

DesignedForLife Mon 31-Oct-16 06:43:29

YABU. Get a wood chopping board

Fairylea Mon 31-Oct-16 06:44:31

Put a tea towel down on top of the board and chop it on top of that.