To think that giving an 18 month old popcorn is dangerous and irresponsible?

(51 Posts)
BringMeMyThrone Sat 01-Oct-16 13:15:17

I think I may be overreacting but I wouldn't give popcorn to any kid under 4.

The woman in question has form for giving totally inappropriate food to her child and then boasting that it is a sign of how advanced they are. Put baby rice in the bottle from 8 weeks, started forcefeeding giving her dc banana at 12 weeks, on 3 jars a day by 15 weeks, and the list goes on. So I admit my judgement may be already clouded. But I just bumped into her at the shops and her 18 month old was mucking their way through a large bag of popcorn in the buggy hmm I couldn't hide my surprise when she said 'Oh yes, dc loves popcorn and has been eating it nonstop for the last 3 months'.

Aibu to think that this is an accident waiting to happen? Do people really give popcorn to toddlers? I used to work as a childminder and had a specific rule in my agreement stating that no nuts or popcorn were to be sent with children due to the danger of it.

ItsAllGoingToBeFine Sat 01-Oct-16 13:16:25

What's wrong with popcorn?

PoliticalBiscuit Sat 01-Oct-16 13:17:16

I had no idea, I've fed it as a rare treat to an 18 month old and older. More than anything I worried about decay! Curious what other people will say.

BringMeMyThrone Sat 01-Oct-16 13:17:28

It's a choking hazard

SimonLeBonOnAndOn Sat 01-Oct-16 13:17:35

What's the problem with popcorn?!

RavioliOnToast Sat 01-Oct-16 13:17:44

My dcs have popcorn. One ha just gone 19months but she's been having it since she could chew. Plain popped as a snack.

pointythings Sat 01-Oct-16 13:21:13

I'd say it depends on how well the individual child is chewing. By 18 months my DDs had all their back molars and could chew their way through anything, so I'd have been fine with giving them popcorn albeit they would have had to be supervised.

Setting 4 as an age limit is very OTT.

1potato2potato3potato4 Sat 01-Oct-16 13:21:51