To wonder why I didn't even get an interview for this post?

(41 Posts)
Runny Fri 30-Sep-16 15:49:34

I work as a supply TA through an agency. Just before the summer term I worked in a lovely school for several weeks covering sick leave, before I finished the placement they told me that if a vacancy ever came up that I should apply for it.

Fast forward to last week. A part time job had come available at the school. I didn't see the advert, but the head teacher made a point of hunting me down via my agency and asking me to apply for it ASAP. I emailed the head and told her who I was and she messaged straight back saying yes she still wanted me to apply for it, and so I did immediately.

This was the Friday, the interviews were this Wednesday just gone. On Monday afternoon I got a really short, curt email from the head thanking me for my application but saying they were not going to pursue it this time.

To say it was a punch in the gut was an understatement. Why make a point of tracking me down and asking me to apply if they weren't even going to give me an interview? I really got along well with everyone at the school, and you'll know if you do supply, there are some places you just gel with straight away, and that's why I really don't get it? No one in my family can understand it either. Obviously if I'd been interviewed and not got it that would have been different, but this has left me scratching my head...

I have anxiety and poor self esteem and this was such a confidence boost, and now I'm back at square one. The only thing I can think of is that my agency have put them off me somehow, but why would they do that?

Can anyone help me shed any light on what may have happened here? I feel so low right now.

BorpBorpBorp Fri 30-Sep-16 15:52:16

Are they definitely still appointing someone? It sounds a bit like they have withdrawn the post.

Runny Fri 30-Sep-16 15:56:54

I hadnt thought about them withdrawing the post, but why would they do that?