Unequal relationship

(24 Posts)
Shelly32 Thu 22-Sep-16 22:59:09

My husband works hard and I work hard. I sometimes feel so unappreciated and undervalued though and don't want to whinge but... His 40th came up. I arranged a huge party, bought an expensive gift and booked several holidays to celebrate. We are not rich by any means and I've been saving up for this for several years. Mine is coming up and I don't want anything in return apart from to go back to a place I travelled to as a student . The destination is in massive demand and needs a year in advance booking. I stated this several times and have had to book the flights myself. Two months on and the place I wanted to stay has gone. I'm okay with staying 10 miles away from where I wanted but I just feel that I do everything I can do to make my husband happy and I don't get the same in return. Am I being petty or should I expect more when I invest so much time trying to make his life happy?

KarmaNoMore Thu 22-Sep-16 23:04:01

Well, the thing is that you shouldn't do nice things to get something you consider of equal value in return, for the simple reason that the other people may not grasp how important something is for you or not, even when you mention it 400 times.

If this place is so important to you, don't wait for him to find a moment in his busy diary to decide whether he wants to make a decision on this next week or next year. Just book it yourself. I know it is not as romantic when you have to organise your own celebration but much better to do so than end up with something which is not up to what you wanted.

Shelly32 Thu 22-Sep-16 23:06:20

Thanks Karma, I think you're right. It kind of feels like romance is dead though. What can I expect after 10 years.. I think I expected mor efrom him , that's all.

Shelly32 Thu 22-Sep-16 23:07:41

It's not that it's even of equal value ..He knows how important it is to me and yes, i probably have mentioned it 400 times ;)