To think i don't need to go to the gym if i've been standing all day?

(15 Posts)
feellikeahugefailure Thu 22-Sep-16 18:44:39

Now I work with a stand up desk, it really feels like I've had a workout so dont gym - just a light swim and steam room.

Is it really a workout?

CurlsLDN Thu 22-Sep-16 18:47:21

Is your heart rate raised?

GardenGeek Thu 22-Sep-16 18:50:53

I never go to the gym.

It may not be beneficial to my cardio.

But it is beneficial to my thighs/calfs grin (which look like Victoria Pendleton if I do any exercise whatsoever)

Agrestic Thu 22-Sep-16 18:52:45

You'll get used to it after a while and feel like you've done nothing.

I used to sit down all day. Now I'm on my feet and constantly walking around. 4 month's on I don't feel like I've done anything physical. It did at first though.

LizzyBennett Thu 22-Sep-16 18:53:30

I'm a nurse - when I was on the wards I did 12 hour shifts with just an hour to sit down on break. It was not stop and heavy.

I stayed quite fat though. I still needed the gym. and to stop eating

feellikeahugefailure Thu 22-Sep-16 18:54:08

no heart isn't raised at all, but my legs ache.

Maybe not a workout but it must burn more calories?

DiegeticMuch Thu 22-Sep-16 19:03:40

I think so.
I had a summer job in a factory when I was a student, standing at a machine from 7am -12pm. I lost half a stone in those 8 weeks with no other lifestyle change. Calves ached at the end of the first week!

TwigletsMakeMeViolent Thu 22-Sep-16 19:25:12

You need to raise your heart rate for any exercise benefit. Will also help with circulation - standing all day isn't good for that.

Artandco Thu 22-Sep-16 19:42:37

I wouldn't think standing does much. Generally from 7.30am-7.30pm I only sit for maybe 1-2 hours for eating and meetings, otherwise I spend all day walking between places or standing usually at work. I still feel the need to run and swim 3 times a week

justilou Thu 22-Sep-16 20:46:07