To be hiding in my bedroom

(37 Posts)
operaha Mon 19-Sep-16 17:46:24

Just 17 year old ds. Lovely boy, so mature. No trouble, very academic and exceptionally musically talented, minor celeb where we live.
He's such an arse to me sad he earns money gigging etc but I'm always dipping hand in pocket. He is untidy but I am unreasonable to expect him to tidy with a levels, music practice etc. I work a 40 hour week.
So I get in tonight and ask him and his brother who is 11, to empty the dishwasher. It is their daily chore and quite frankly I'm tired of saying it every day.
But I said do it quietly as I'm phoning the university (I'm studying also) to which he starts trying to make me look silly by sarcastically asking if I want said job done or not because doing the dishwasher is a noisy job. I said just try but he had to keep arguing about it. This happened this morning when he responded to my request he clean up the mess he made making a smoothie by saying "it'd be nice if you'd clean your long hair from the bath but we can't have everything" ... That's fucking rude is it not? He would never ever speak to any other adult on the planet like that, is saved just for me.
I don't do shouting, quiet house but I lost it after the dishwasher argument and have been in my room ever since.
It sounds quite trivial but he argues with me about everything. The sky is blue, well actually mum, I think you'll find.... I can't take anymore.
I don't want to cook him dinner, I don't want to look at him, I don't want to be anywhere near him which I think for now will work, ignoring him is best but I can hardly leave him hungry.
I didn't think he'd be like this sad
Just ranting. Wish I'd bought my book up with me....

2410ang Mon 19-Sep-16 17:50:05

You are so NOT BU. No more handouts, don't cook, don't wash his clothes, change the code to the wifi etc etc until he learns to have respect. You are his mother!

DartmoorDoughnut Mon 19-Sep-16 17:50:21