To have a baby during uni

(22 Posts)
kawla Wed 10-Aug-16 15:31:26

So basically I am studying at university and have one 13 month old. He was born 6 weeks before I started uni and despite that I have managed to pass my first year with a first which I am proud of grin
Anyhow, Law is a difficult subject and I know that when I graduate I then have to do a LPC and hopefully get a training contract.
I've read a few threads here about working in the legal sector and a lit have mentioned its not family friendly. I really want to have a good career but at the same time I want to have another baby and from experience of others and their advice, what would be best or what would you do in my situation?
Have another baby now or wait 4 years to finish studying and two years training so DS would be 7 at the time which is rather old.

Please advise smile

flowers

IWillTalkToYouLater Wed 10-Aug-16 15:35:11

I have no practical advice, but just wanted to say congratulations on your first first! Making that happen with a tiny baby - thems the kind of skills I don't got, so you have my admiration flowers

Pinkheart5915 Wed 10-Aug-16 15:36:18

My DH works in law and we've not found it not family friendly. We have a ds ( 11 months) & DD (9 days old) so far so good!

I am guessing your fairly young with being at uni? So I'd wait 4 years personally. Your ds being 7 by then isn't rather old, me and my brothers are 10 years and 5 years apart

Lilaclily Wed 10-Aug-16 15:37:37

Well firstly I don't think aibu is the right topic for this

Secondly I think as you already have a baby you may as well crack on and have another and carry on studying part time if possible

If you hadn't already had a baby I'd have suggested waiting until your career is established tbh

Oliversmumsarmy Wed 10-Aug-16 15:38:56

Given you already have a family what will the difference be to have another child.

Eatthecake Wed 10-Aug-16 15:39:39