Husband is taking the piss

(13 Posts)
Betyboo333 Thu 07-Jul-16 07:44:43

DH used to work offshore, month on month off however now that we have DS (7 weeks old) he doesn't want to work away any more so is trying to set up his own business. In order to try and make it a success and whilst it's in the early stages without any income he's paying himself very little. This means that I'm paying 100% of the mortgage, bills, joint costs etc and as I'm a contractor and don't get maternity pay, I'm also going back to work when DS is 3.5 months (much earlier than I'd like) in order to be able to afford this. However I'm getting pretty peed off that DH is being quite a slacker (lazy mornings and I'm often up before him even tho I've been up feeding in the night, loads of breaks, short days...) If he was my employee I'd fire him! If I mention anything about it he gets sh*tty with me but I'm getting more and more annoyed that I feel like I'm the one making sacrifices, looking after DS full time and going back to work early, and he's just taking the possibility cruising along and taking it easy. AIBU?? Oh... And he also complains he doesn't have any "him" time!! angry

ClopySow Thu 07-Jul-16 07:49:56

YANBU. He thinks he's on maternity leave too.

Nanunanu Thu 07-Jul-16 07:50:23

Yes he is taking the piss. Either he established a business before child was born or he carried on working on/off shore.

If trying to establish a business now he had to try with all of his might.

If you are a contractor why are you paying all the bills? Presumably you don't get mat pay either so you have saved for this period of no earning. Why hasn't he?

Euphemia Thu 07-Jul-16 07:51:34

How is he spending his days? How much time on the business?

Betyboo333 Thu 07-Jul-16 07:56:21