too not mention DD anymore?

(68 Posts)
Pandoraalora Fri 01-Jul-16 08:05:20

I have a job interview next week that I have many years experience in, however this is interview 6 5 that I've not been successful for.I'm beginning to wonder if it's because I've always mentioned my DD who is under 2 ( I am relatively young so would not assume I'm a mum ) and then they start to question my flexibility and childcare etc, so AIBU to try my best to avoid mentioning I have a DD ? I know I have no legal obligation to do so, however if I was successful when would I mention it?
This is a full time role after initially going back to my current job part time, so how would I get around that part?

LovebitofMN Fri 01-Jul-16 08:07:38

I wouldn't mention her

ElspethFlashman Fri 01-Jul-16 08:07:53

Wait, why do you mention your child if she will not influence your ability to do a full time role in any way? What's the relevance in bringing her up?

mouldycheesefan Fri 01-Jul-16 08:11:15

I have interviewed thousands of people and am struggling to recall a time when a candidate mentioned their children in an interview. Why are you doing that? It's not relevant. I think this could be why you are not getting job offers, bringing up irrelevant issues in the interview. Why do you need to tell your employer you have a child?
Are you saying that you are applying for a full time job but only want to work part time? In which case you are better to contact the emp,other vibe fore applying and ask whether they would consider a part time applicant. Other options are to negotiate a reduction in hours if you are offered the job ( not always a popular option with emp,overs) or start the job full time and then put in a flexible working request when you have been thee the appropriate time, but they may decline it.
Good luck with your job search but stick to relevant information don't go off on a tangent in interviews.