DS blood sugars

(16 Posts)
makingitthroughok Wed 15-Jun-16 20:46:23

DS 16 went to gps (nurse( with various symptoms. And the nurse could link a fair few to diabetes so they checked his Blood sugar. Just in case. HE hadnt eaten it was the morning they were. 6.1 mmol/l. Obviuosly not to high to cause major concern but they want to keep a "good eye incase it gets higher" Went back on Monday 6.3. (This was at 6:00 hadnt eaten since 12:00) Nurse said "we will really monitior this" We went in today 7.5! (diffrent nurse btw) He though okay somethings going on nurse said BS was absoultly fine and they cant see y they were checking for low blood sugar hmm wasnt it high blood sugar. I know this isnt to high but im no expert, i wasnt in room with him at time. Just need some advice really. AIBU to want second opinion DS dosent want tis dosent want the fuss he says

MrsBobDylan Wed 15-Jun-16 20:58:47

Blood sugars should be between 4 and 8mmls (4-7 for adults) so you can rule out type 1 but I'm not sure if 7.5mmls after fasting for 12 hours would be concern if they were checking for type 2.Hopefully a type 2 expert will be along shortly!

Mouikey Wed 15-Jun-16 21:03:32

Not really similar but I had to test my own over the last couple of weeks for gestational diabetes and was told that over 5.5 after fasting or 7.4 1 hour after food and 6.4 2 hours after food would be a worry if I had three instances in a week (whilst checking 4 times a day) and this would indicate diabetes. As I say it was in pregnancy, so not sure if the figures are of any help!!!

Mouikey Wed 15-Jun-16 21:04:15

BTW, if they are concerned, could they give him a testing kit? I thought it would be terrible, but actually wasn't too bad at all!

DaveGrohlyousexyman Wed 15-Jun-16 21:04:59

I work 1-1 with a little boy with type 1 Diabetes and those readings look completely normal to me. We were taught that "normal" blood glucose is between 4 and 10 and obviously goes up and down depending on various factors.