in regards to death, is this normal?.

(18 Posts)
PirateFairy45 Mon 13-Jun-16 15:02:24

We have lost a few people in the last 5 months. And I think my daughter is struggling to cope.

She's 3.5. This isn't the first time but earlier I caught her playing with lion toys (a mummy, a daddy and a baby)

The 'mummy' was led down and she was playing out that the mummy had died and she got emotional about it, then the 'daddy' came along 'cuddled' the baby.

Especially these last 2 weeks, she's been especially clingy, and bad tempered at times then getting upset because she's missing her grandpa (her words).

Is it normal for her to play it out this way?. I

monkeyandlion2012 Mon 13-Jun-16 15:24:53

Yeah kids often play out there feelings . My dd now plays resuscitation with her teddy's she seen it happen to her brother heartbreaking but normal

OneArt Mon 13-Jun-16 15:57:36

I'm not an expert but I'd say this is normal, in fact healthy. She's trying to make sense of it as best she can.

flowers for both of you

DameDiazepamTheDramaQueen Mon 13-Jun-16 15:58:36

Completely normal to act out emotions through playsmile

Spotsondots Mon 13-Jun-16 16:07:10

Yes totally normal and a healthy age appropriate response to working things out. Sorry to hear of your losses, op.

BillSykesDog Mon 13-Jun-16 16:11:29

Normal and healthy. Sorry for your losses flowers.

Sounds like she has a lovely supportive concerned Mum to get her through.

Allatseainthemidlands Mon 13-Jun-16 16:24:07