'You're only young'

(15 Posts)
Moomoomonkey Tue 24-May-16 10:03:58

AIBU to be getting really annoyed at work colleagues for saying 'you're only young' when I complain I'm in pain and tired.
I have been suffering from joint pain and fatigue for about 18 months. I finally went to see my doctor, I didn't really think it was serious enough to go before. I very rarely go. I have had blood tests that show poor renal function and a sever vitamin D deficiency. He has just ran further tests checking for lupus and rheumatoid arthritis as well as others. So quite a worrying time for me.
I work in healthcare as a senior healthcare assistant, I have been doing this for 13 years. I'm now 32. On days where I'm really struggling and I say how I'm feeling I get the comment 'you're only young, wait 'till you're our age' and made to feel as though I'm faking how I'm feeling.
Do people not realise that young apoplectic can be ill too?

imwithspud Tue 24-May-16 10:06:33

YANBU, intentionally or otherwise they are minimising your pain and making you feel like it's not important.

I would try my best to ignore them.

WorraLiberty Tue 24-May-16 10:09:01

Do they know you have medical conditions that make you struggle though?

Moomoomonkey Tue 24-May-16 10:13:37

I have mentioned tests and that I have a vitamin D deficiency. I don't want to mention the poor renal function until I have had more tests and know more. The problem when you work in healthcare is that people will tell you things that make you worry more, and I really don't need that as I'm already petrified!

Pinkheart5915 Tue 24-May-16 10:17:08

Yanbu

I do think though that sometimes people still don't expect young people to be sick, especially older people and you say you work in health care so I wonder if you have contact with a lot of older people?
I doubt if anyone means any offence it is just a shock for people to learn that young people are sick sometimes.

Moomoomonkey Tue 24-May-16 10:21:27