To call them out as liars

(15 Posts)
IThinkIveHadEnough Tue 24-May-16 00:03:27

I work in sales. It's still a relatively new job and I'm about to have my probation review (which I will hopefully pass). So far I've had really good feedback from my line manager and am quite good at what I do. The problem is the colleagues on my team.

The role is office based and we sell our products via phone and email. When we get an enquiry we log details of it on the customer record and that then becomes our customer for 12 weeks from the date of enquiry. You can prolong the length which you have the customer by updating the enquiry. We all have our own targets (there are 3 of us who do the same role) and we earn commission ok anything over our targets. The targets were raised in April and a number of factors are making it difficult to reach target.

About two weeks ago one of my colleagues A basically doctored a record to make it look like a lead was theirs. A had added an enquiry and selected a date of a few weeks previous to mine to make it look like the customer had already been speaking to A when I know full well they hadn't. It was a lead worth quite a lot and A deferred it to our line manager to make the decision on who got to keep the lead. As I already had a different enquiry recorded before the doctored enquiry was added (which was a couple of weeks after my original enquiry was listed) the lead stayed with me. I did not mention to our line manager that my colleague had basically tried to steal the lead off me as I didn't want to cause any problems and I just let it go.