To tell someone their house stinks of dog?

(111 Posts)
newtscamander Sat 21-May-16 17:11:46

I'm an estate agent, people have put their house on the market with me and all three viewers this week have mentioned it stinks of dog. BUT they wouldn't have otherwise bought the house, as it just wasn't right for various reasons. So really the dog smell isn't necessarily stopping the house from being sold...yet... WIBU to tell them though?!

KingJoffreyLikesJaffaCakes Sat 21-May-16 17:13:25

I expect they know.

betsyderek Sat 21-May-16 17:14:57

If someone is stupid enough to not buy a house because of that I wouldn't trust them to be bright enough to be able to complete the sale. They are on my list of people to avoid along with homes with no bookshelves, big lights and no lamps and "comes from a pet free non smoking home" types.

jonsnowssocks Sat 21-May-16 17:16:26

Yup, I imagine they know as well! Our house stunk of cigarette smoke when we bought it, took months to get rid of the smell, and while it was unpleasant it wasn't a deal breaker.

NicknameUsed Sat 21-May-16 17:17:56

"I expect they know."

I bet they don't. They will be nose blind.

Sorry betsy a house that smelled of animals would be very off-putting to me. I would think of the hassle and expense of getting any carpeted areas thoroughly cleaned.

Wolfiefan Sat 21-May-16 17:19:32

Trust me. They won't be getting the carpets cleaned. Rather replaced.
Out house had mdc. Manky dog carpet when we moved in. Ancient and gross.

newtscamander Sat 21-May-16 17:19:57

Its tricky, because if yoy offend the owners that's potentially a 3k fee my office will lose. But we are here to guide them through selling and get it sold quickly ..

GloGirl Sat 21-May-16 17:19:58

You should tell them. I have a dog and I don't think it smells, when I sold my last house I would have wanted the EA to tell me. I can understand how you get used to it and don't smell it any more.

specialsubject Sat 21-May-16 17:20:21