To ask you to explain the childcare costs from family budget theory/model

(19 Posts)
Villagebike3 Sun 24-Apr-16 22:13:39

I have 3 children, I started with my first at 30 when I had a career. I have a degree, masters and professional qualifications. It was the job that required long working hours and travel.

I worked when I had only 1 child, but 2+ children the childcare costs were greater than my wages. I gave up work and 10 years later I am doing a school hours/term time job on minimum wage.

Our budgeting thought process was if childcare costs more than the wage of one of the parents, then why work? Financially it would be £100s out of pocket.

I've heard another theory though, but I'm still not sure I buy into it. As childcare costs are a family cost, then they come from the family income, ie the combined income of both parents.

If parent 1 earns £18k net, parent 2 earns £50k net, childcare costs £25k out of net salary. The childcare costs leave £43k net.

Or, as per my family finances:

Parent 1 doesn't work, parent 2 earns £50k net, childcare costs £0.

Where I live childcare for pre schools costs £45/day. For school age, breakfast club is £5 per child and after school club is £15, childcare over school holidays is £30/day. So, whilst childcare reduces in cost, it doesn't drop to an insignificant amount.

Not just more income as a family but also a lot less stress as child sickness isn't a problem to cover, child drop off and pick up times not a problem, school holidays and inset days not a problem.

Pogmella Sun 24-Apr-16 22:17:42

... But your childcare does still cost, its an opportunity cost you'll likely pay when you try to re-enter the labour market. Of course, if you don't plan on returning to work or work in certain fields this might not be relevant, but that's the thinking in our household.

StealthPolarBear Sun 24-Apr-16 22:19:03

It sounds like nor working is what works besr for you and your family.