To pathetically ask for some help with how to talk with people

(25 Posts)
Abbbinob Thu 14-Apr-16 10:05:16

at work?
I'm so, so rubbish at making conversation with people I don't know, but i've started a new job and so far it's been, er, awkward.
before i've been there too long to pass it off as being new and shy I need to get better at this.
I work in a shop so there is quite a lot of talking with each other etc

At the moment it feels really awkward, because i can't join in with what theyre talking about because of course, people at work tend to talk about work a lot and other people who work there etc which i have no clue about.

I just need some conversation starter type questions/topics i can use (yes, i know i should know this but it's just not in my brain and never has been. suspected autism when i was at school, since nursery, but my parents "don't believe in that sort of thing" though in my opinion the suspicions of teachers were probably right. anyways that's irrelevant but just explaining that my social skills are lacking to a point where people obviously notice, and i don't want to be seen as weird)

The other people who work there are mostly youngish, early-mid twenties so same as me really and very nice. a couple of older people. (not sure if that's relevant but maybe with what people talk about?)

all i can think of is asking if people watch EastEnders and praying they say yes so i can talk to them about that.

please help, i actually feel sick about going in because it's so awkward. I cried last time because i felt so confused blush

InTheBox Thu 14-Apr-16 10:11:56

Steer away from using Eastenders as your opening gambit. You might receive a few hmm faces if you go from zero to talking about who's running the Queen Vic these days.

You could for example ask if they have plans for the Weekend and go from there. If it's a work type setting then chances are a few brief exchanges should suffice, not a re-telling of the odyssey.