to not know how to deal with rejection

(20 Posts)
travellinghopefully12 Mon 04-Apr-16 14:45:48

Just that really

I work as a freelance writer, which is a massively competitive field and have had amazingly good luck with journalism, but recently all my work has been creating web copy to sell products (OK pay but not what I want to do in the longterm - not that I am ungrateful for the work - I need it and my current clients are lovely and respectful.)

I've been coasting along lately, doing the web copy, pitching longform ideas to editors (I love longform) and just not had that many yeses - although did just get one on Friday.

I spent the whole of my spare time in winter working on a project which I entered into a competition, and I found out the other day I didn't get longlisted. I know writing is a grossly competitive field and I didn't expect to win - but I put everything into it and it feels so tough not getting longlisted, spoilt as that sounds.

I'm also taking the writing gigs I do get for granted - or if they are good ones, assuming they will fall through (I've been asked to interview an actor I very much admire, but am terrified they will pull out at the very last minute.)

I've posted about this before, but I didn't expect to feel this shit. The not getting long-listed, not getting feedback has really knocked me for six. Every time I enter a creative writing competition and the date for notification is coming up, I find myself playing stupid games - like, if I can beat the bus to the street corner I will be shortlisted - ridiculous, I know.

I feel like I have gone from being lauded at school and to an extent at University, for my writing to being nothing. (How self pitying I sound!)

There was a piece in The Guardian recently saying that all writers should serve their apprenticeship, but I feel like I've served mine.

herecomethepotatoes Mon 04-Apr-16 15:17:13