To think that if I'm down as unavailable they shouldnt be bothering me?!

(18 Posts)
MintyChapstick Mon 21-Mar-16 09:32:19

I work as a TA for a supply agency. We have an online availability calendar where we put when we can and can't work and the people in the office are supposed to be working from that. Last week I was really ill, I suspsect I may have had a mild dose of the flu and I had to phone in sick on Monday because I was booked in for the afternoon at a school. I then went back to bed and was fast asleep, feeling like shit, when my phone started to ring. I answered it and it was the agency phoning me asking me if I'd be well for the rest of the week! They also prcoceeded to start asking me if I'd considered an ongoing placement for after Easter! Bare in my mind I was fucking delirious. I said I didn't know, hung up and then had various different people phoning me from there all afternoon but ignored them all. As it happened I did work, Weds, Thursday and Friday for them.

So today Ive put myself down as unavaibale as I have a few things I need to do, Ive picked up my phone and have just discovered about five missed calls, texts and several answering machine messages asking me to go to a particular school. Now I'm down as unavailable, so why are they fucking phoning me? For all they know I could be at a funeral, in a hospital appointment having a minor op anything, but yet are they still sodding phoning me!

AIBU to think they are being out of order? I love the flexibiity and diversity of supply but I'm sick of the aggression and pushiness from the agency, the guilt trips and often sometimes even blatant rudeness when I say no to something. I wouldn't dream of phoning someone and hassling them when they were ill, but that's exactly what they did to me last week.

Birdsgottafly Mon 21-Mar-16 09:38:51

They are out of order, but a lot of agencies operate like this.