Will security have a copy of the key and will they let me into the shop?

(25 Posts)
MarbleFox Sat 19-Mar-16 21:33:03

I work in retail, in a small shop which's located in a large and very popular retail centre which has a security centre and guards wandering around at all times of the day. There's no doors at the entrance of the shop, just a shutter we open and close using a key. We close at 6 but my shift finished at 5 and I've just now realised I've left my keys in the shop - I'm a huge idiot, I know. There's no way of me getting them tonight sad

A colleagues and myself are supposed to be opening the store together tomorrow morning but she's late to almost every shift she works, and I'm worried she'll be late tomorrow. We could get into a lot trouble from our manage and receive a fine for opening the store late.

AIBU to get up extra earlier, make it to the retail centre in plenty of time and hope security have a copy of the key and are willing to let me into the store? I'm not even sure they'll have a copy, do you think they will? I'm so stressed, I feel like crying and I doubt I'm going to sleep tonight sad

Leeds2 Sat 19-Mar-16 21:35:10

I would message your colleague, and tell her that she mustn't be late or she will very likely be fined.

CountryRoadTakeMeHome Sat 19-Mar-16 21:35:29

Have you got colleagues mobile/phone number? If so call and get her to work on time!

novemberchild Sat 19-Mar-16 21:36:21

Unlikely. Would contact the other person and stress the importance of being early.

StealthPolarBear Sat 19-Mar-16 21:36:28

I'd be trying to contact colleague first

Salmotrutta Sat 19-Mar-16 21:36:55

Sorry to hear you are stressing about this - I would too if it's any comfort - but let's be practical.

Do you have your colleagues phone number?

Can you call her and stress the need for punctuality?

MarbleFox Sat 19-Mar-16 21:37:05

I don't have her number I'm afraid, I've messaged her on Facebook but she hasn't read it sad