To think I shouldn't have to pay this?

(19 Posts)
MidniteScribbler Thu 25-Feb-16 01:45:42

One of my washing machines was being temperamental, so I called a repairer yesterday morning. When he asked if it was urgent or not I said that it wasn't, and so we scheduled an appointment for next week (I wanted a late in the afternoon appointment as I'm a teacher). He rang yesterday afternoon and said that he had a cancellation so he had finished early and lived around the corner from me and he could stop and do the job on the way home. I agreed. He came by and fixed it, then handed me a bill, including a line item for $150 for 'same-day fee' (in addition to his regular "minimum call out/labour fee" line item charge. I paid him cash for the job, less the same day fee and said that my appointment had been booked for next week, not today, it was his choice. He said that he had come today so I had to pay for it. I refused again and said that I was not paying. He began screaming at me and I told him to leave or I would call the police. He left, shrieking out the car window that he was going to sue me.

Was I wrong to refuse to pay the fee? He didn't have to come that day, next week would have been fine, and if he'd told me on the phone that he was going to try and charge me an extra $150 for coming yesterday afternoon I would have told him to stick to the original appointment.

Birdsgottafly Thu 25-Feb-16 01:49:53

He rang you and offered you the cancelled appointment, so, no, you don't have to pay the fee.

He's filled his day and freed up his time, that can now be used.

He was being incredibly cheeky.

MadamDeathstare Thu 25-Feb-16 01:50:28